(dis)abilities
on monday i started working at a local not for profit organization, working with people with disabilities. all i can say is that these people leave me amazed, in awe, in wonderment.
i realized how alienated from society they are. how most people consider people with disabilities as second class citizens.
in the last 4 days, i've learned that they are not second class citizens, they are first class citizens of the highest order. they've overcome limitations, be it
traumatic brain injury,
blindness,
deafness,
down's syndrome,
mental retardation, just to do something most of us despise, if not take for granted. to go to work. to have a job. to be a productive member of society.
and i tell you what - the next time you see a person with disabilites bagging groceries, serving fast food, washing dishes....don't you fucking dare feel sorry for them. be proud of them. take inspiration from them. they've worked harder than you can imagine to be there, to be in society, to be productive.
tuesday evening, i left work crying at just how amazing these people are.
in the last 4 days, i've done a lot of thinking - a whole lot of thinking. this is where i was meant to be. and no, i won't be buying a cd. i'll be buying an
american sign language book.
oddly enough,
this was the first thing i read this morning.
Comments (31)
beautiful.
... and what's amazing is that they have a sense of humor about it too! Yup, pretty inspirational people.
POY! (proud of you acronyminimized)
*stands up and claps*
I also volunteer for the Association of Retarded Citizens (ARC) And you are right...they are such amazing people. I have 'adopted' a couple that i spend time with regularly, and they are very humorous, and independent...and just fun to be around. YOU should be so proud of yourself for finding a place for these people in your heart...its not something that many people do.
Yes...its something that i'm very very glad to do. I feel like i'm serving a purpose there...and i know that i am when i see the smiles on their faces.
PS...thanks for the donation
you have no idea how Needy i am...lmao.
Go you *smile*
Awww. That was a really sweet entry. Ya know.. sometimes you really surprise me. U should get 10 props for that one.
very very kewl
You just won a special place in my "Awesome People" book.
)
My uncle was born with sever brain damage.. cord wrapped around his neck cut off oxegyn during birth. He has the mind of a 8 year old I would say..well no. Most 8 year olds are not as sweet and loving as he is. He has a memory that puts me to shame. And is perhaps the kindest man I have ever known. He's 72 now.. and about 6' 4" tall. A big ol teddy bear. And has helped me really appreciate people with disabilities.
Good on you!
Sweet....I visited a school for the deaf once, and was completely blown away...american sign language is a beautiful language...be careful what book you buy, a lot of them aren't very well researched. (It's just not right when they mix up the sign for 'bitch' with the sign for 'breakfast') I took sign for 2 years, but I've started to forget most of it, since I dont know anyone to use it with.
Go you!
someone that plainly, simply listens and sees. you are a lucky person to be able to do such... wonderful lil bit of verbage.
I have a new found respect for you.
(I always respected you.. but even more so now)
I have a nephew with Cerebal Palsy, a blind cousin & 2 deaf friends.
So this blog really touched my heart!
((((HUGS & PROPZ 4 U))))
i struggled with a mild traumatic brain injury last year. on many levels, i found it difficult to manage the symptoms. i shudder to think what a more serious case would be like, and the impact on one's life.
you're doing amazing work, good luck with it!
Great Blog (and very nice profile pic, you handsome devil!) My kids are at the point in their home schooling where we are talking about learning a second language, I was very pleased that the two they have narrowed it down to are Spanish and ASL. They were ahead of me on that on.
I wish I had more props to give you. That was amazing.
Well that was good for you to do ... I can't imagine what the adults go through ..but I do know how it feels to work with these type individuals , only younger versions ..
it makes you think how lucky you really are
One of my best friends from childhood was born with Down's Syndrome. She is an amazing woman today and I couldn't be more proud of her. We would all be blessed to know people who are overcoming the challenges in their lives like her. It's an inspiring thing.
good for you!! i've always found work for non-profit orgs extremely rewarding as well!!
Good luck with the new job. My niece and her husband are both blind and work for the Texas Commission for the Blind, so, I have a lot respect for people who work in this field.
The drums: Didn't quite give them away but sold them for next to nothing just to get them out of my way. Huge mistake and I regret it.
#1. you're right. you are doing what many could not.
#2. what is up with your title heading?
rock on, my friend.
I work with people who have had TBI's (traumatic brain injuries) as well. I'm an Occupational Therapist.
It is amazing and inspiring to see the courage and drive they have for life.
great message.
ok. right. that picture you sent me? yeah. I opened it in front of my father, unknowingly. argh...
My mother's best friend is blind.. she's also an IT specialist. Beats me how she does it, but she does. Funny how I never thought of her using something like Xanga ~ for entertainment, I mean.
I had a nasty head injury a few years ago too, but I'm definitely one of the lucky ones.
Good for you, brother. The world would be a much better place with more people like you in it.
more power to you...
that makes me smile so big...
Thank you.
That is so great! So happy to hear you're doing something that is so wonderful.
I know I'm amazed everyday by people with limited ability. A very dear friend of mine both her brother and step-sister have down-syndrome and the things they do and have accomplished blow my mind. It really opens your eyes.
RYN: Is that yer sn? lol :confused blonde look:
That's awesome! My brother in law is autistic, and loves the people that work with him. You have an awesome opportunity to impact their lives.
DG
Comments are closed.